John Barr (Life Fellow, IEEE) retired from Agilent Technologies/Hewlett Packard having served in various engineering R&D roles, including as the R&D Manager/Director for Agilent's Wireless Semiconductor Test Solutions. John was involved in the development and design of RF and Microwave component measurement systems. This work led to five patents and ten published papers.



John is active in the Microwave Theory & Technology Society (MTT-S) as an Honorary Life Member of the AdCom and previously served as President. John was the General Chair of the 2006 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (IMS) and the 2012 IEEE Radio & Wireless Week (RWW) General Chair.

At the IEEE institute level, John was an IEEE Director and Treasurer on the IEEE Board of Directors in 2013-2014 and previously served as the TAB Treasurer, member of IEEE Finance Committee and Chair of PSPB/TAB Products & Services Committee. He is 2025-2026 Chair, IEEE Conferences Committee.

IEEE Activities

Conferences

MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (IMS) 2006 General Chair (11,300 attendees)

IMS2016, IMS2023 & IMS2025 IMS Steering Committee member

IMS TPC (Microwave Measurements) 1990-2001, 2008-2015, frequently Session Chair

IMS ExCom 2000-2024, Chair 2008, Contracts 2014-2024

Site Inspection and Negotiating Committee (SINC) member 2016-2024

Radio Wireless Week 2012 General Chair TPC Chair 2011, Chair 2012, ExCom 2012-2016

IEEE Time Technology Machine (TTM) 2016 & 2018 – Treasurer (FDC event)

Fog World Congress 2017 (edge computing) partnering with non-IEEE industry group, Treasurer

ARFTG events (non-IEEE, cosponsored by MTT-S) – General Chair multiple times in the 1980's & 1990's

IEEE SPACE 2024, International Advisory Committee member

Presented a dozen+ conference/workshop papers (IEEE, ARFTG)

IEEE Conferences Committee

Conferences Committee, Vice Chair 2024, Chair 2025-2026

Conferences Committee, Member-at-Large 2019-2020

IEEE Conferences Committee Technical Program Integrity Committee (TPIC) 2018-2021, Chair 2022-24

Conferences Financial Committee, Chair 2017 – 2023.

Conferences Governance & Strategy 2018-2024

Conferences Quality Committee 2022-2024

Conferences Future of Conference IP 2022-2024

POCO 2012, Convene 2017, 2018, 2019, 2022, 2023 & 2024 participant/speaker

Educational Day presenter 2019, 2023

NextGen Finance Banking AdHoc (Conferences Rep) 2020-2021

NextGen Volunteer Adoption AdHoc (Conferences Rep) 2022-2024

Sections Congress 2011, "MGA and TA Conference Best Practices" Session organizer

Sections Congress 2023. "Conferences Basics Workshop"

MTT-S (home society)

ADCOM member 1994 –2005, Honorary Life ADCOM Member starting 2017 President 2002, Vice President 2001, Treasurer 1998 - 2000 IMS Coordinating Committee, Chair 2008, member 2005-2024

IEEE Society Memberships

MTT-S, I&MS, S-SIT, and prior long-time member of COMSOC

TAB member 2002, 2005-2006, 2009-2012

TAB Treasurer 2009-2012, TAB FinCom 2005-2016
TAB Management Committee 2005, 2009-2012
AdHoc on S/C Elections, Chair 2023, AdHoc on TAB Governance, Chair 2024

TAB/PSPB Products & Services Committee 2002-2008, Chair 2005-2006 AdHoc on Product Ideation, Member 2014-2020, Chair 2020

PSPB member 2005-2008 Vice Chair 2006 PSPB FinCom, PSPB OpCom 2005-2008

EAB Continuing Education Committee (CEC) – member 2018-2020

IEEE Institute level

IEEE Treasurer / Director of the IEEE 2013-2014

IEEE FinCom 2007-2016, Chair 2013-2014

IEEE FinCom AdHoc Enabling Strategic Investments and Public Imperatives 2024

IEEE Governance Committee 2016, 2019-2020, IEEE-USA review Chair 2020

IEEE Industry Engagement Committee Events Working Group Chair 2021

IEEE Tellers Committee member 2019-2021

IEEE Elections Oversight Committee member 2023-2025

IEEE Employee Benefits and Compensation Committee (EBCC) 2019-2024, Chair 2022

IEEE New Initiatives Committee (NIC) member 2008, 2022-2024, Chair 2023

Joint NIC/Finance Committee Ad Hoc Committee on Enabling IEEE Strategic Investments 2023

IEEE BoD IEEE in 2050 and Beyond subcommittee-2023-2024

2023 IEEE Strategy and Alignment Committee - 2023

IEEE Foundation Finance Committee 2023-2024

Major Awards

MTT-S Walter Cox {exemplary service} Award recipient 2013

MTT-S Microwave Application Award 2016

MTT-S Distinguished Service 2017

2017 IEEE Haraden Pratt Award recipient. "For sustained leadership and service across IEEE and Society levels."